SHORT FILM BLOCK 2
Thursday, Nov. 16th 2017, 5 pm
.

.

Regentropfen
Thomas Kodnar, AT, 2015, 00:01:52, Festival Premiere
Waiting for the first raindrops to come as the depiction of a nightmare/dream, the depiction of a marriage. A film like a constant awakening with a start – mysterious, alarming but still enjoyable as a cinematic short.


Commodity City
Jessica Kingdon, US/CN, 2017, 00:10:29, Austrian Premiere
This documentary paints a fascinating and at the same time depressing pictures of the biggest Chinese wholesale market in Yiwu, using long-lasting shots. The pictures of monotonously stacked goods, abundant glittering Christmas decoration and neatly sorted odds and ends stand in contrast and symbiosis to the salespersons and dip quietly but at the same time critically into the worlds of commerce.


149th and Grand Concourse
Andy and Carolyn London, US, 2016, 00:03:18, Austrian Premiere
While life hurries away on the streets of New York, objects in the streets like threadbare furniture, street lamps and trash bins – serenade us. Various voices of the Bronx acquire a new face by funny animations: while at first the face seems inanimate, it reveals its soul and love for catchy pop songs at closer inspection.


MATHIAS
Clara Stern, AT, 2017, 00:30:00, Niederösterreichpremiere
The winner for best short feature film at the Diagonale tells the story of Mathias – Mathias is transgender. After his transition the consequences of that change that he grapples with become manifest. Quickly it shows that many more steps have to be taken after the big step of transition.


Total running time: 45 Min.
Recommended age: 12y
Ticketinfo: Free Entry / Voluntary Donation

KURZFILMBLOCK 2
Donnerstag, 16.11.2017, 17:00 Uhr
.

Regentropfen
Thomas Kodnar, AT, 2015, 00:01:52, Festivalpremiere
Das Warten auf die ersten Regentropfen als (Alb-)Traumszenario, als Szene einer Ehe. Ein Film wie ein ständiges Hochschrecken aus dem Schlaf — rätselhaft, beunruhigend und dabei als filmische Miniatur dennoch sehr vergnüglich.


Commodity City
Jessica Kingdon, US/CN, 2017, 00:10:29, Österreichpremiere
Der Dokumentarfilm entwirft mit langen Einstellungen ein faszinierendes und zugleich bedrückendes Bild des größten chinesischen Kleinwarenmarktes in Yiwu, wobei die Bilder von monoton aufgeschlichteten Waren, glitzernden Weihnachtsdekorationen im Überfluss und sauber geordnetem Krimskrams in Kontrast und Symbiose mit den VerkäuferInnen stehen und so einen stillen, aber kritischen Blick auf die Konsumwelten werfen.


149th and Grand Concourse
Andy and Carolyn London, US, 2016, 00:03:18, Österreichpremiere
Während das Leben auf den Straßen New Yorks dahineilt, singen uns Gegenstände der Straße — abgenutzte Möbel, Straßenlaternen und Mistkübel — ein Ständchen. Durch witzige Animationen bekommen die diversen Stimmen der Bronx ein neues Gesicht, welches nur auf den ersten Blick leblos zu sein scheint und beim zweiten Hinschauen seine Seele (und die Liebe zu eingängigen Popsongs) offenbart.


MATHIAS
Clara Stern, AT, 2017, 00:30:00, Niederösterreichpremiere
Der Diagonale-Gewinner in der Kategorie Bester Kurzspielfilm erzählt die Geschichte von Mathias — Mathias ist transgender und nach seiner Transition manifestieren sich zunehmend die Konsequenzen der Veränderung, mit denen er nun zu kämpfen hat. Schnell zeigt sich, dass dem großen Schritt der Transition noch viele weitere Schritte folgen müssen.


Gesamtspielzeit: 45 Min.
ab 12 Jahren
Ticketinfo: Freier Eintritt / Freie Spende